Thursday, April 3, 2025
Uncategorized

EMGA Rules Refresher #9

; -webkit-text-stroke-width:0px; margin-right:0in; margin-left:0in”> 

Pace of Play continues to be an EMGA priority and to that end, we’ll be emphasizing the use of hitting a Provisional Ball

 

Now, one would think that when you see your ball slicing into oblivion that you can say it’s Lost.

 

It’s not that simple.

 

Rule 18 Stroke-and-Distance Relief; Ball Lost or Out of Bound; Provisional Ball

 

The USGA defines a ball is Lost only when the ball is not found within three minutes after the player or their caddie (and their partner & caddie) begins to search for it.  A ball does not become lost as a result of the player declaring it to be lost.  

 

Now, as you’ll see in the linked video below, if you think your ball is lost, hit a provisional.  Search for 3 minutes, and if you can’t find it, play your provisional.

 

Now, interesting enough, “A player may ask others not to search for the original ball when the player would prefer to continue play with the provisional ball, but there is no obligation for them to comply.” Rule 18.3c(3) 

 

If you find it in a playable lie, hit it, play on and pick up your provisional that is no longer in play.

If you find it in an unplayable lie, your provisional ball is no longer an option since you have to take relief under the Unplayable Ball Rule #19 (see Rules Refresher 3). 

 

Here’s a very short video about it:

 

https://www.youtube.com/shorts/MMrJ0yMa_nM

 

*****************

Rules Refresher Quiz #8

Q8. In stroke play, a player returns their scorecard with a total score that is correct but with a score missing for one hole. What is the ruling? 

a. The Committee should allow the player to enter the missing score. 

b. The Committee should enter the missing score. 

c. The player is disqualified.

 

The answer is “c”.  Ouch!

And the winner of Q8 is… Sam Bryant!

 Prize: It’s All in the Hips Lesson

*******************    

Rules Refresher Quiz #9.

Q9. The original ball is no longer in play if a player has played a provisional ball from a spot nearer the hole than where the original ball is estimated to be.

 

True or False?

Prize:  I’m Retired, Ask Somebody Else

*******************

 Hit’em straight and not too often,

 

Tom McKernan

Rules and Handicaps

Sent by Eisenhower Golf Club. Unsubscribe

Attachments:

Im_Retired_Ask_Somebody_else.JPG